Do Tell

 

80th party

It was a big weekend. In celebration of my mom’s upcoming 80th birthday, (yes, 80th!) four generations gathered for the weekend.

  • We told jokes. (What do you call Batman when he skips church? Christian Bale!)
  • We feasted. (If you live in Houston, check out Campioni on Cutten Road.)
  • We played games. (My nephews introduced us to Exploding Kittens and Nintendo Switch.)

And we marveled at the goodness of the Lord.

Four generations. How time flies! How family grows! Just a few days before our gathering, I came across this verse:

“We will tell the next generation the praiseworthy deeds of the Lord” (Psalm 78:4b).

I now have two “next generations” below me, and so I’m asking you, my readers, to help me finish this blog installment by answering a question:

How have you told the next generation the praiseworthy deeds of the Lord? (Or how did your parents, grandparents, friends, or mentors do so? Or how do you intend to tell of His goodness when you have the chance?) Remember, you don’t have to be a family member to give or receive the blessing of such a telling.

Please share your thoughts. Tell this new grandmother the creative ways in which she can pass the good news down to future generations. And as you do so, consider sharing your thanks with those who have done the telling before you.

Thank you, in advance, for the good advice I hope to receive!

4 thoughts on “Do Tell

  1. Well, you are plucking my heart strings because of what’s happened just this summer. From the time Andrea’s kids were were infants I just tell them who God is, how I’ve heard or seen his answer to prayers, how A Bible person had troubles and God answered their need. I don’t know why, but before they could talk, I would look them in the eye and just tell how God created the heavens and the earth to start with and go on from there in bits. I was cut off from telling of His goodness to our grand daughters in their earlier years, but things have changed in the last two. This year they asked me for a Bible (ages 5 and 7) so I took them to pick one out and we read from it some. Then when I went back in June with a broken wrist and had to do exercises every hour, I invited the older one to read to me from her Bible/devotional. In those 7 days she was challenged to receive Jesus and did so. Her eyes were so big with excitement. She wrote about it in her journal and called her grandpa. Then, just Tuesday I talked with the younger one on the phone to see how her first day of kindergarten went, but the best thing she told me is that her older sister took her to that same devotion on Monday, and she, too, prayed to receive Jesus because she believes in Him. To hear it in her words in her little voice is a treasure. Wit Jackson I gave him a Bible book of five stories when he was about 3 and read it to him whenever I visited. Being long distance, it’s more difficult, but that little book has meant a lot to him per his parents.

  2. What a blessing & joy!! I’m not there, yet, with grand babies, but just tell your stories! They will remember stories best & in them, see the Lord working & blessings.

What are your thoughts?

