Double-Minded (by Beth Smith)

frog-48234_960_720[1]

I’ve seen double plays in baseball, double dips of ice cream, double joints, and even Dubble Bubble Gum. However, I can also be double-minded. That’s a “double” phrase we all want to strictly avoid.

Here’s what James 1:6 says “But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.” Tossed by the wind might sound like this:

  • “Oh, God, I know you have a plan for my life. What if it isn’t a plan I like?”
  • “Lord, I want whatever you want. No, not completely. I’m afraid of your plan. You might send me to Africa to become a missionary.”
  • “You are the Lord of all my life, but right now I need to stop praying and plan my day.”

The question is, how can we overcome being double-minded? The Bible tells us to set our minds.

“Those who live according to the fleshly nature set their minds and pursue those things which gratify the flesh. But those who live according to the Holy Spirit set their minds on and seek those things which gratify the Spirit” (Romans 8:5 AMP).

“Set your minds and keep them set on what is above (the higher things), not on the things that are on earth” (Colossians 3:2 AMP).

I want to suggest two things to help us start setting our minds.

First of all, let’s set our minds on God and who he is, getting to know him better through Bible study and prayer. As we do this, something exciting happens. We begin to say what God says, and we get our minds off ourselves. We start moving from being pitiful to being powerful, because we are operating in God’s power, not our own.

  • “Nobody loves me” changes to “God loves me.”
  • “I am so alone” becomes “God will never leave me.”
  • “There’s nothing good in my life” is disproved as we learn that God is good.

The second half of setting our minds, overcoming double-mindedness, is a perpetual homework assignment, something we must practice every day.

In Philippians 4:8-9 (NLT), Paul writes: “And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts (set your mind) on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Keep putting into practice all you learned and received from me—everything you heard from me and saw me doing. Then the God of peace will be with you.”

I pray we will be able to set our minds on things above, on God and on the good and wonderful that he provides. The only “double” word now is to ourselves. I dee-double-dare us to practice these truths. I know, if we do, we will be doubly blessed.

What are your thoughts?

