Hymn Sing Part Two

hymns pixabay

Welcome back to our virtual hymn sing. Are you as amazed as I continue to be at the wealth of music we all have at our fingertips? I hope you’ll have time this week to listen to these inspiring pieces.

From Depths of Woe I Raise to Thee

I think of Martin Luther as a theologian, but he was also a musician. Over three dozen hymns are attributed to him. The best known is A Mighty Fortress Is Our God, but today I’ll share with you the words found in his From Depths of Woe I Raise to Thee, based on Psalm 130. Language has changed over the years, so reading this one takes a bit of extra work. It’s worth it!

From depths of woe I raise to Thee The voice of lamentation; Lord, turn a gracious ear to me And hear my supplication; If Thou iniquities dost mark, Our secret sins and misdeeds dark, O who shall stand before Thee?

To wash away the crimson stain, Grace, grace alone availeth; Our works, alas! are all in vain; In much the best life faileth: No man can glory in Thy sight, All must alike confess Thy might, And live alone by mercy.

Therefore my trust is in the Lord, And not in mine own merit; On Him my soul shall rest, His Word Upholds my fainting spirit: His promised mercy is my fort, My comfort, and my sweet support; I wait for it with patience.

You can listen here.

Blessed Assurance

My dad was an insurance salesman for years. As a child, I thought Blessed Assurance was extolling his line of work. In reality, Fanny Crosby, blind from childhood, yet the author of more than 8000 hymns, was writing about our Lord and Savior. Her words are a great way to end this week’s virtual hymn sing.

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine! O what a foretaste of glory divine! Heir of salvation, purchase of God, Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

This is my story, this is my song, Praising my Savior, all the day long; This is my story, this is my song, Praising my Savior, all the day long.

Perfect submission, all is at rest I in my Savior am happy and blest, Watching and waiting, looking above, Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

You’ll find Third Day’s version here.

What are your thoughts?

