More Power to You

auto-999719__340[1]

My husband drives a 15 year old BMW 2-door. Every once in a while he and a favorite neighbor will end up at the same stop sign. They grin at each other, revving their engines as they take off (and then quickly slow back down, of course.) They both like showing off the power under their hoods.

Last week I wrote about getting out of first gear. Welcome back to car analogies. Today I want to flood you with verses about the power under your spiritual hood.

This verse was taped to the wall next to my very first dorm room. It was just what a somewhat timid freshman needed to know: 2 Timothy 1:7: For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

God has given us all the power we need. Let me encourage you with five more passages. In each case, if you click on the reference, you’ll be taken to Bible Gateway, where you can read the whole chapter.

Philippians 4: 12b-13: I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Ephesians 6:10-11:  Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.

Ephesians 3:20-21: Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

2 Corinthians 12:9: But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Ephesians 1:18-19: I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, and his incomparably great power for us who believe.

And that is my prayer for you today. May you know just how much power is underneath your hood!

What are your thoughts?

