Snap or Pull?

garden

Our front yard boasts an immense mulberry tree. It provides fruit and shade and, sadly, kills our grass. We’re making a valiant attempt at replanting the area with shade loving ground cover, but in the meantime, oh the weeds! During my last weed-ridding session, I had plenty of time to think as I dug and snapped and pulled.

  • Weeds are easier to dig out after the ground has been soaked by a steady rain.
  • Snapping off the tops of the weeds makes for a quick fix, but never gets rid of the problem entirely. The ugly parts may look like they’re gone for a while, but they’re just below the surface and will show up again soon.
  • Pulling those pesky plants out by the root takes a bit more effort but generally provides a more permanent solution. Once the roots are gone, that plant has met its demise.
  • When the weeds are gone, the better plants have a better chance.

If you’ve read this blog before, you know I like analogies. So here is where my writer’s brain went as I dug in that dirt under the sun.

  • Sin is easier to get out of my life after my spirit has been soaked and steeped in things of the Lord—Bible passages that encourage and convict, fellowship that leads to accountability, music that brings my soul to a place of worship, and prayer that brings me closer to Jesus and revives my thirst to be more like him.
  • I can cover up my sin for a while, keeping it under wraps so that no one else notices. I may even be able to turn my back temporarily on a nasty habit by making a resolution to change. For example, I might harbor resentment against a fellow worker, but commit to keeping quiet about it. Then I’ll look good on the outside as the poison proliferates within.
  • Rooting out a sin is never pleasant, but often permanent. We can rarely do it alone, and it will often involve giving up some pleasant and seemingly innocuous cause. By the grace of God, though, with much prayer and often the support of a close friend, those roots can be eliminated.
  • When sin is gone, peace and joy and all manner of good fruit takes its place.
  • And (lovely thought!) perhaps as that good fruit grows, it will crowd out more of my weedy sins!
2 thoughts on “Snap or Pull?

  1. As a lifelong gardener, I’ve had some experience with pesky weeds! The thing about just snapping them off is, that causes the root to grow stronger in order to be able to send up another plant.
    The spiritual analogy follows along the same line. By not dealing with sin by pulling out the root, it gets more deeply embedded and the next time it surfaces it’s more virulent and then becomes more difficult to extract.

What are your thoughts?

