I Broke My Toe

I broke my toe. At least I think so. It’s pretty ugly. Thus, no illustrative photo accompanies this blog. It doesn’t hurt as I sit here typing, but I’m not going to be doing any three mile runs for the next couple of days. Life’s lessons can be learned from even the simplest (and most painful) of circumstances. Here’s what my purple foot is teaching me today: I ought to be more mindful of my “basic blessings.” They’re not basic in the sense that they’re unimportant, but rather in the sense that they are nearly always there.

  • Comfort. Once my tiny toe stopped throbbing, I realized how often I am free from pain.
  • Mobility. I have a friend who cannot get out of bed. Her condition has changed the way I look at my daily chores.
  • Vision. My eyes are aging and gave me a bit of a scare last year. But I’m fine now, and once I slip those glasses on each morning I can see everything. What a gift!
  • Water. I’ve looked at countless photos of what much of the world must drink. I have six faucets in my home. And more outside.
  • Literacy. Not everyone in this world of ours has been given the gift of education. Imagine going through this day unable to read and write.

These blessings are huge! Yet they fade from my consciousness all too quickly.

In 1897 John Oatman Jr. penned these words:

“When upon life’s billows you are tempest tossed, When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost, Count your many blessings, name them one by one, And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.”

It’s easy, in the midst of grief or disappointment or even just a very busy day, to forget our basic blessings. I hope you will take a moment to remember them, to thank God for them, and perhaps to share them with me. What basic blessing is astounding you today?

4 thoughts on “I Broke My Toe

  1. The ability to think rationally. Mom has Alzheimer’s and lost that ability a number of years ago. Very sad and makes me thankful that I still hold that blessing.

What are your thoughts?

