Oxygen Masks

plane]

Have you ever flown on a plane and actually listened to the safety announcement the attendants give before takeoff? When they came to the part about the oxygen masks, what did they tell you to do first? That’s right, put yours on.

Why? So you could save yourself first? Never mind anyone else sitting in your row? No! Because if you run out of oxygen you can’t help the ones you love. That’s true in life, too. If you run out of oxygen, you won’t be much help to anyone else.

So, we have to learn to be kind to ourselves. I’m not saying we should spend our days binging on chocolate and videos. In fact, the very opposite is true. Eating junk wears us down. Watching junk wears us down. Most of us have to fight against our very human desire to be lazy.

But, we also have to fight against our very human desire to be perfect, or at least to look to those around us like someone who has it all together. That habit will wear us out.

We don’t need to have perfect hair, perfect houses, perfect bank accounts and perfect kids. In fact, we can’t ever attain and sustain such things.

What we do need is the sense to say no to unreasonable goals and yes to our Lord’s loving guidance.

So, take a deep breath. No really, do it with me right now. Breathe in….Breathe out.

Now, won’t you join me in making this simple prayer a part of your life? “Lord, please show me what you want me to change today and every day. Amen.

You know, the Lord always equips you for whatever he asks you to do. He will not leave you hanging. Now that you’ve asked him to show you what to change, if he shows you something, then follow his leading. But when he doesn’t show you anything, rest in the assurance that God is making you into exactly the person he wants you to be, and he is the one in control of that process. If you follow his plan, you will have plenty of oxygen!

For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. Philippians 2:13 NLT

——-

1 Corinthians 13 Expanded Bible (EXB)

Love Is the Greatest Gift

13 I may speak in ·different languages [L tongues; 12:10, 29, 30] of people or even angels. But if I do not have love, I am only a ·noisy [resounding] ·bell [gong] or a ·crashing [clanging] cymbal. I may have the gift of prophecy. I may understand all ·the secret things of God [L mysteries] and have all knowledge, and I may have faith so great I can move mountains. But even with all these things, if I do not have love, then I am nothing. I may give away everything I have, and I may even give my body ·as an offering to be burned [L to be burned].[a] But I gain nothing if I do not have love.

Love is patient and kind. Love is not ·jealous [envious], it does not brag, and it is not ·proud [arrogant; conceited; puffed up]. Love is not ·rude [disrespectful], is not ·selfish [self-serving], and ·does not get upset with others [is not easily provoked/angered]. Love does not ·count up [keep a record of] wrongs that have been done. Love ·takes no pleasure [does not rejoice] in ·evil [wrongdoing; injustice] but rejoices over the truth. Love ·patiently accepts all things [T bears all things; or always protects], ·always trusts [T believes all things], ·always hopes [T hopes all things], and ·always endures [T endures all things].

Love never ·ends [fails; falls short]. There are gifts of prophecy, but they will ·be ended [cease; pass away]. There are gifts of ·speaking in different languages [or ecstatic utterance; L tongues], but those gifts will ·stop [cease; fall silent]. There is the gift of knowledge, but it will ·come to an end [pass away; be set aside]. ·The reason is that [For] ·our knowledge and our ability to prophesy are not perfect [L we know in part/imperfectly and we prophesy in part/incompletely]. 10 But when ·perfection [the perfect; completeness; wholeness] comes, the ·things that are not perfect [partial] will ·end [pass away; be set aside]. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I ·stopped [set aside] those childish ways. 12 ·It is the same with us [L For…]. Now we see ·a dim reflection [obscurely; or indirectly], ·as if we were looking into a mirror [T through a glass darkly], but then we shall see ·clearly [L face to face]. Now I know only a part, but then I will know fully, as ·God has known me [L I am fully known]. 13 So these three things ·continue forever [endure; remain]: faith, hope, and love. And the greatest of these is love.

Footnotes:

  1. 1 Corinthians 13:3 give… burned Other Greek copies read “hand over my body in order that I may brag.”The Expanded Bible, Copyright © 2011 Thomas Nelson Inc. All rights reserved.
  2. Expanded Bible (EXB)
What are your thoughts?

