Life’s A Beach

photo (7)

I’m at the beach today! As I write I can see the wind, the sand, the surf and plenty of cargo ships plying their trade. I love it here. I will always be a Florida girl at heart. You can take the girl out of Florida, but you can’t…Well, you know. And while Galveston isn’t the Gold Coast, it really does suit me just fine.

Looking at the ocean has always fed my soul. Although I’m sure those of you who prefer to gaze at majestic mountains would beg to differ, I find that the sea reminds me of God’s magnificence more than any other place on earth.

It’s vast. Vast like his love, his creativity and his wisdom.

It’s powerful. How much more powerful our Lord is and always will be!

It’s dangerous. In The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Mr. Beaver describes Aslan to Lucy saying, “Of course he’s good. But he’s not safe. He’s not a tame lion!” Those who go up against the will of the Almighty God are treading on dangerous ground indeed.

It’s uncontrollable and often hard to understand. I cannot keep the waves away from a single inch of sand. And, thankfully, I cannot turn our Lord away from his purposes, even when they don’t make sense to me.

It’s life-giving. Disaster movies have tried to portray what would happen if the seas froze or evaporated. Not a pretty sight. We need the ocean. But, frankly, not as much as we need our Lord.

It’s beautiful, wonderful, and awe-inspiring. While I will never worship the ocean, it fills me with joy to worship the One who made it.

Where are you today? Can you see the beach, either with your “real” eyes or with the eyes of your imagination? Then I hope you will join me in saying:

What a mighty God we serve!

He is the Maker of heaven and earth, the sea, and everything in them– he remains faithful forever (Psalm 146:6).

 

One thought on “Life’s A Beach

What are your thoughts?

