Lightening the Load

IMG_1397

Vacation!

Steve and I were headed off for a week alone together. We promised each other we’d each stick to this luggage limit: one carry-on size suitcase and a backpack. I met my end of the bargain size-wise, but had crushed my clothes in to a surprisingly heavy 14 by 22 inch rectangle. Sadly, having left our teens and twenties behind some time ago, Steve and I have both been given this rather inconvenient advice: “Don’t lift anything over 25 pounds.” As a result cooperation is key when we travel.

Several times throughout our trip, we counted together, “One, Two…” and lifted our luggage on “Three”. When we did that, our spines never strained. Our backs never balked. Lifting the load together made our luggage amazingly light. One morning, as we lifted our luggage on “three,” I wondered, “Are there more ways I could be helping lift the weighty problems of my friends and loved ones? Are there burdens I bear alone that could or should be shared by others?” The Bible talks about bearing one another‘s burdens. That’s one of the ways we love one another and fulfill God’s plan for our lives.

I’ll be on burden alert now, looking for opportunities to lift and be lifted, to help and be helped. I hope you will join that search as well!

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up. Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone? Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”

–Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

One thought on “Lightening the Load

What are your thoughts?

