Slow Service

waiting-410328_640[1]

I’ve been the recipient, a.k.a. “victim”, of remarkably slow service on several recent occasions—a fast food restaurant with long, long lines, a dinner where the waitress barely stopped at our table except to let us know that what we’d ordered was no longer on the menu, and lagging responses to requests for updates on utility repairs. Do I sound impatient to you? Well, I was impatient and more than a little irritated. Later, after a cooling down period of sorts, my irritation turned to chagrin.

Who was I to think the world must rush to meet my needs?

Should I have been better served? Quite possibly? But should those lapses in service have become disturbances of my peace? Absolutely not! I was being served. Served! How many people in this world are seldom, if ever, served in any way, but always on the serving end? How often do I miss the magnitude of simple privileges like a fast food sandwich, dinner out or running water?

And so, here is my resolve, my hope. The next time I receive slow service, I will slow down and do a little serving myself. How?

  • By offering a smile or a word of encouragement to the one trying, yet failing still, to move fast enough by my exacting standards.
  • By taking a look around me and recognizing the gift I have been given in being served in the first place.
  • By spending a bit of my waiting time well—counting my blessings and praying for someone in greater need than I.

I’ve heard it said that we ought never to pray for patience, but I’m praying for it today. Won’t you join me?

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law” (Galatians 5:22-23).

“I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received.  Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love” (Ephesians 4:1b-2).

Read more about patience here: http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/bible-verses-about-patience-20-scripture-quotes/#ixzz3IlPe0pTJ

And thank you pixabay.com for the photo!

3 thoughts on “Slow Service

  1. Pingback: Steps to Happiness | Smoother Sailing

  2. And, oh, what we stress about! Yesterday my oven died. Big expense. Big job. But I still get to buy an oven while other people wonder what they will find to eat today. Perspective is a tricky thing!

  3. Brenda – so true. Great reminder for the holiday season when the stress levels can rise when we could/should be celebrating our Christian faith!

What are your thoughts?

