Give Up

220px-Hannah_Whitall_SmithSuppose you became very ill, went to a renowned physician, and said, “Please help me! I’ll do exactly as you say as long as your directions make sense to me. Sometimes, though, I’ll choose to follow my own advice.” He would probably refuse, saying, “I can’t do anything for you unless you put your whole case entirely into my hands, obeying my directions implicitly.”

How much more do we need to put our lives completely into the hands of God, following his directions without reserve! This sort of surrender boils down to saying, under all circumstances and with regard to every act, “Your will be done. I give up my own will in the matter.”

If you don’t have a relationship with the Lord, such a degree of obedience may look difficult or even frightening. But to those who know him, it is a happy and restful choice.

  • He is your Father.
  • He loves you.
  • He knows what is best for you, and it is in his power to take the very best care of you.

Suppose you were the father of a young son who came to you and said, “I have made up my mind. I am always going to obey you and do whatever you think best.” How would you feel? Would you say to yourself, “Aha, now I can make my little one miserable?” Of course not! You’d fill his life with all that was best for him. Yet we are fallible in our choices and limited in our powers. Surely we ought to have more confidence in saying, “Your will be done,” to our heavenly Father than any child could have in saying it to us.

Step one toward a life of peace is surrender. Step two is faith, faith that you have a Savior from the power of sin, faith that he is now your deliverer and Lord, and faith that he wants the best for you this very day. A happy life of trust and peace is a gift from God, but is of no benefit unless we recognized and use it. Here are two ways to lay hold of the gift we have been offered.

  • Say these words, “Jesus saves me now!” with the conviction that the Lord Jesus does the work of saving us in every moment.
  • Then pray this prayer, “Lord Jesus, I believe you deliver me from all the care and unrest of my life. I believe you are stronger than sin and can keep me from falling. I trust you to keep me. I give myself to you, holding nothing back, body soul and spirit. Fashion me into anything your love and wisdom chooses. I trust you completely now.”

In short, trust and obey for there’s no other way…

(This entry is a condensed version of the fourth chapter of The Christian’s Secret of a Happy Life by Hannah Whitall Smith.)

 

What are your thoughts?

