Fuzzy Failure, Part 2

IMG_1564

This bears repeating: God cares about the everyday details of our lives. While he wastes nothing, he rarely acts according to our frail and human understanding. We have to trust in his unlimited love and unparalleled wisdom.

Consider the muffins. In the late eighties, I produced and distributed Cornerstone Cottage Oat Bran Muffins, once available at half a dozen grocery stores in the Houston area, but no longer available anywhere at all. I poured time, sweat and money into a start-up business that ultimately cratered. It was, in this world’s eyes, a total failure, no two ways about it. My disappointment was so deep that I wondered if it would ever go away. Now, though, I am forever grateful for the benefits that came from starting that business and, ultimately, watching it die. It changed my perspective on how much time I should spend with my kids, helped my mom get into a different line of work, started my family on a healthier eating plan, and ultimately gave me the courage to start The H2O Project. So, was it really a failure, or was aiming for a bakery conglomerate just the way God got me going in the right direction?

The Bible tells us that we are God’s children. Loving parents don’t send their little ones out into the world alone, wishing them the best and looking forward to seeing them when they are grown. Why, then, would we expect our loving lord to say, in essence, “Go do your best. ‘Hope you don’t goof up too much. I’ll see you when you get to heaven.” When life isn’t turning out the way you’ve planned, remember that God loves you and has the situation well in hand. He will not waste your pain. Failure is a fuzzy thing. Don’t be too quick to claim it as your own.

4 thoughts on “Fuzzy Failure, Part 2

  1. Reminds me of a lesson I keep learning over and over again…God really does work everything together for our good…even our ‘mistakes’.

  2. Brenda,
    Lesa Smith shared this with me this morning, and it couldn’t have come at a more opportune time. Thank you for your insight and God-sent wisdom. Blessings to you and Steve!

What are your thoughts?

