Minding God

220px-Hannah_Whitall_SmithI spent three years studying the works of Hannah Whitall Smith. Her theology wasn’t perfect, it appears she had a bit of a temper, and I suspect she, like the rest of us, had plenty of other flaws. But, oh, how she could write about trusting and following her Lord! Here is a snippet from page 342 of one of her lesser known books, Old Testament Types and Teachings.

“A dear little girl of my acquaintance, whose life was the truest picture of childlike faith I ever saw, said one morning, as she kneeled in prayer, “Dear Lord, I thank Thee that I have nothing to do all day today, but just to mind.” Nothing to do but mind! Ah! This is the blessed secret!”

My first reaction to reading that quote was, “That sounds so peaceful. Wouldn’t it be nice if I could say the same?” Really, though, when you consider everything you have planned today, doesn’t it all boil down to minding God? So why do we get all balled up about our task lists? You’ll find this line in many of my blogs, because I think it’s so important: Surely there is time to do all God wants us to do. The Lord who loves us wouldn’t give us more than we can handle, then sit back and chuckle at us as we strive and fail. The trick is to figure out what he has put on our plates and carefully disregard everything else.

My husband’s favorite verse is Micah 6:8:  “He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”  This is what God wants, but he fleshes out that directive differently in each of us. If we will only still our hyperactive hearts and ask him to show us each day how he would have us spend our time, perhaps we could also delight in saying that today we have nothing to do but mind.

One thought on “Minding God

  1. “That I have nothing to do all day but mind.” I will take this with me today. I love your point that everything on our list should be that minding, and so often it is, but… it helps to realize and ponder this. Thanks Brenda.

What are your thoughts?

