A Different Kind of Happy New Year

IMG_1389

Yesterday I came across this saying on, of all things, a tea bag. “Real happiness lies in that which never comes nor goes, but simply is.”[1] Our God never comes nor goes. He always is. Psalm 68:3 reads, “May the righteous be glad and rejoice before God; may they be happy and joyful.” So Yogi Tea and the book of Psalms agree: We have great reason to be happy!

I’ve heard too many preachers say that happiness is circumstantial, worldly and unreliable. I beg to differ. I am happy, and while my happiness is circumstantial, it is neither worldly nor unreliable. Old songs about happiness taught the lesson well, “I’m So Happy in Jesus,” “Happiness Is the Lord,” and “I’m So Happy and Here’s the Reason Why,” to name a few. My circumstances are awesome and so are yours! We have the God of all creation on our side. We have hope and a future. We are loved with an everlasting love. The list goes on and on, but here is the point: If the faucet leaks or my back hurts, I can still be happy. If the house floods or I have an incurable disease, even then some part of me can still be happy, because there are other, greater, bigger circumstances for which I can give thanks, and about which I can still smile. Don’t tell me I can’t be happy! I can.We all can.

John Sammis penned these words, “Trust and obey, for there’s no other way to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.” Trust and obedience don’t guarantee perfect health or prosperity or anything else the world says we need in order to be happy. But, oh happy day,we have these guarantees:

  • God loves us.
  • Our sins are forgiven through Jesus Christ.
  • God gives us eternal life through his Son.
  • The Bible is God’s word, every bit of it true and reliable.

Plenty of reason to be happy, don’t you think?


[1] Yogi tea tag quote, used by permission.

One thought on “A Different Kind of Happy New Year

What are your thoughts?

